KosherEye
Bookmark and Share

Ancient_Harv_G_317HQuinoa ("Keen-Wa"), was first brought to the United States from Chile over 25 years ago. It has been cultivated in the Andes Mountains for thousands of years.
Kosher for Passover Status: Most rabbis have determined that quinoa is a non-grain, a member of the "goose foot" family, which includes sugar beets and beet root. Therefore, quinoa, when not contaminated by chometz in the growing process or in handling , is now considered kosher for Passover. When purchasing quinoa, check for special Passover certification on label or verify brand kashrut with the kosher certifying agency.

Kosher for Passover Quinoa:
OU-P required on label: Setton, Pereg, Goolbaum
Star-K-P required on label: Natural Earth
Ancient Harvest White Quinoa - No special Passover certification is required, just Star-K

Quinoa is delicious in both salads and pilafs.

Basic Quinoa Recipe: In a pot, add 1 part quinoa with 2 parts boiling water; turn off flame, and cover tightly. The quinoa will continue to cook itself, is ready in about ten minutes. The grains will look "squiggly" when ready. Use in lieu of rice. Quinoa is a has more calcium, iron, and protein than wheat, and is gluten free.

Try this Quinoa Pilaf recipe - a KosherEye family favorite.

The Star-K 2015 Passover Directory
The OU 2015 Passover Guide

round-facebook round-twitter pinterest round-rss